June 17, 2014

South Carolina’s Texting Ban

South Carolina finally passed a statewide texting ban on June 9, 2014. Here is what you need to know:

  1. the ban takes place immediately, but law enforcement officers can only issue warnings for the first 180 days;
  2. the ban makes it unlawful to “compose, send, or read” all types of electronic messages including texts, instant messages, or emails;
  3. law enforcement officers must have a “clear and unobstructed view” before they can pull a violator over;
  4. the penalty is $25.00 for a single violation or a maximum of $50.00 for multiple violations;
  5. drivers can still use their GPS for navigation purposes;
  6. a violation is not a crime;
  7. records of violations are not kept by the SC DMV and can not be reported to the violator’s insurance company;

Click here for the full text of the law.

If you have been hurt in a car accident:

  1. Please read why I don’t believe it was an accident, here;
  2. Request my Free Guide, South Carolina Car Accident Claims Guide in Plain English, by clicking here.
  3. Call at 888-510-9359 or contact me for a free consultation. There is no obligation.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below

Jessica - June 17, 2014 Reply

How on earth are they legitimately supposed to know if you are reading a text or using GPS?

    Chad - July 1, 2014 Reply

    The US Supreme Court just decided that the police cannot search your phone without a warrant as well. Meaning you do not have to allow an officer to view your phone or look at the contents of what you were viewing. Good luck proving this.

Leave a Reply: